Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The station manager's intention is in interest of his radio station by taking steps to gain a larger audience size. However, the argument presented in the question is not convincing enough to guide the kind of decision station manager made.

First, the argument stems from the success of WCPQ success after they increased the number of call-in advice program two years ago. It can be possible that taste of audience of Rocksville is different from those of Medway. People have different preference of music as we move from one region to another. This variation is discernible as we move far apart, for example difference is more distinct as we move across states than we compare two cities. It is not mentioned how close or far are the two cities culturally and geograhically. So, local preferece should be kept in mind before emulating the success story of different radio station in another region.

Second, the statement argues that share of radio audience in Rockville area has gone up. It could be possible that number of people listening to radio has gone down because people didn't like the show and shifted to online medium like podcast. For example, if 100,000 people listened to radio and 50,000 of them listened to WCPQ. Some of them started to listen to online podcast and number of people listening to radio has reduced to 75,000, but number of people listening to WCPQ is down to 40,000. Even though the share has increased but there are other things- drop in number of people listening to radio, which needs to be considered. So, the success of WCPQ should not be taken as it is and should be analysed by KICK station.

Third, the argument tends to use nationwide survey to justify the decsion of station manager of KICK. We do not have substantial information to gauge the credibility of the survey. How many people were there in survey? What was the sampling method and what questions were asked? Is the sample really represent the whole nation? Clearly, many key questions are left unanswered and one cannot rely on such surveys. It can be possible that only people of few cities were surveyed and results were extrapoloated to make it national.

The station manager to analyse the arguments on which he/she based the decision to introduce call-in advice programming. Otherwise station could end up losing its audience affecting the revenue generated from advertisement.