Progress should be the aim of any great society. People too often cling unnecessarily to obsolete ways of thinking and acting because of both a high comfort level and a fear of the unknown.

Progress is an important measure of a great society. Developed countries are marked with mavericks which think out of the box and iconoclasts which shun procedures and rules, these people lead the society towards greater progress which cannot be possible if people limit their thinking to pre-explored subjects and conform to the rules of behavior inherent to a society. A great deal of opposition -- from within themselves and the out

world -- is faced by people who step out of their comfort zone and experiment with something new.

Some people may argue that deviating from defined standards leads to failures. While this may be true, greater good comes through these failures in the long run after repeated experimentation and trials, which may take a long time to lead to fruition. Despite the turmoil that marks such experimentation, when people succeed in their experimentation it leads to revolutionary discoveries and breaks existing misconceptions, leading to increased knowledge among society members. The newly acquired knowledge can then be used for the betterment of the society.

The fear that some society instils over individuals tends to discourage them. Original thinking, especially if does not match with the common views held by the society is looked down upon by other members. People are conditioned to think and act in a particular way, any deviation is marked with serious repercussions in oppressive societies. Consider some middle-eastern countries like Saudi Arabia, the women are discouraged from driving or going out in public, they are forced to dress in a particular way. Such restrictions largely inhibit the progress of the society, restriction women's independence, with women not being able to contribute to the society by taking up jobs.

Some societies give a great emphasis on following a set procedure. Schools in some countries follow a strict curriculum which discourages the students to engage himself in subjects that spike his interests. The society tries to mold students in a particular way, largely influencing their thinking. Progress cannot be achieved when all individuals are brought up in a way that they tend to belong to the same school of thought. Diversity in thinking needs to be celebrated and healthy arguments needs to be encouraged. A society can progress by adopting new, largely unexplored ideas which work for its betterment.

In summary, progress cannot occur unless we encourage people to make their own path, give them the needed assurance for trying out things outside their comfort zone. If the society lifts expectation on its members to conform to certain rules and procedures, the greater freedom can lead to a wider outlook amongst individuals. This freedom while not guaranteeing progress is certainly a catalyst for people who gain increased confidence in exploring new ideas.