Progress should be the aim of any great society. People too often cling unnecessarily to obsolete ways of thinking and acting because of both a high comfort level and a fear of the unknown.

An unprogressing society has nothing to do with greatness, which is highly dependent on the state of individuals with that society. Greatness in a society come from the collective greatness of people living within which cannot be achieved by a miserly nature.

Many youth are focused on attaining "quick success" which involves routes and mediums that hamper a society's growth. The term "yahoo boys" is widely known as Africa and expecially Nigeria and attributed to internet fraudsters. They prey on the naiveness of individuals in their society in oder to extort money and valuables from them. Most of the fraudsters a embark on this menacing act due to self desire to want to be seen as an elite in the society. They basically hinder the growth of their society by creating disorientation and distrust amongst individual which harms a society's way of life.

Improving ones society by helping develop the next individual beside you or neighbour should be a vital goal of individuals in a society. But this is not the case as most people are selfish, only thinking about their own progress and don't care if they have to step upon that next neighbour. This selfish nature only hampers the growth of a society because a society of made up of individuals and only their colective growth and progress can lead to a progressive society.

Corruption and conflict should be highly frawned upon and any individual harboring any quality hindering the growth of a society should be delt with by laws governing the progress of that society. It is by taking actions to fight against barriers hindering a society's that individuals can actually move gradually towards a progressive society.

Some might argue that there are certain situations that affect ones way of thinking. Maybe a financial meltdown that leads someone to become an armed robbers. But this should not be the case because the societies growth should be the first thing in ones mind.