Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

The topic here raises a very controversial topic of whether scandals are useful or not. Indisputably, the word scandal has a very negative ring to it, presented to us in a negative way often following a considerable amount of chaos. Nevertheless, scandals also often enlighten many minds, challenging the way we work, think or see the world around us. Therefore, scandals can really provoke the thought process of many, galvanizing the change in society in a way many leaders can not, through their words.

To begin with, in a world where most of the population belongs to the working class minding their own quotidian life, people tend not to pay more attention to the hypothetical problem/scare about which a reformer or a speaker trying to warn. For example, before the egregious 9/11 attacks, a normal American was not bothered much about how much secure airports were or did not care much about terrorism in general. Before the attacks, the security at the airports was minimal, allowing everyone-even non-travelers to go till the boarding gates. As detrimental as the 9/11 attacks were, but at least we as a society became aware of the fact we do lack in some areas and need to work on it. Even though it was not the case that there were not any telltale signs present with respect to airport security but the attacks made everyone actually work on it without any further procrastination and uniting pro and anti-security groups.

Furthermore, there are many topics in the society which many people are not interested in/comfortable talking about, scandals usually help to talk about such topics. To illustrate, let us look at the example of the illustrious Anita Hill case. Before this incident, there was not much awareness about ethics or decorum and consequences when not followed the same. After these scandals, we were forced to think if it was fair?, The way investigation was carried out, was it fair to assassinate justice-seeking victim's character? Are law and order only applies to ordinary people? Scandals like Watergate made us ask questions like is commander-in-chief is above the law? Both common sense and evidence have told us that every such scandal brought a reform with it in the way we think and handle the problem.

Admittedly, it is true that these scandals often enter our life as major aberrations and lead to chaos erupting normalcy. In addition, some of the scandals bring not only chaos but grief and a heavy price that we as a society need to pay. However, as history has taught us, such incidents also helped human beings to adapt to the changing time to make a better society for further generations to come.

In conclusion, although scandals may feel unnecessary, chaotic and painful to witness, always helps us to evolve as a society, more open and more attentive.