Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Scandals, often turn out either as a headline on a daily newspaper or on Page 3 of a magzine, gives a minute medium of unusual gossip and entertainment in our lives. They are even more attention grabbing than a speaker or a reformer's opinion and often takes most of our focus out of our lives. This, in turn could teach us a lesson but at a certain cost.

Scandals can give us an insight about a person or a group's opinion, but the way in which these scoops are attained are mischevious and inhumane. A person is usually decieved in a situation in which they feel most comfortable, and they tend to give out some information that they are not to. Although, a scandal might give us an useful information, but the cost of attaining that information is too high, sometimes as high as losing ourselves in the process. This is a negative side of journalism, which if kept unchecked causes a lot of misinformation spread throughout the society.

Also, scandals are usually targetted at particular people, mainly celebrities. Many jornalists, who are either new in the field or are not as famous as their counterparts tend to do whatever it takes to get that scandal as fast as they can. Naturally, they would make a name if they could target a person with a reputation, mainly celebrities. As stated above, these journalists tend to adopt mischevious methods in order to get some sort of scoop out of celebrities which might include stalking, bribing people close to the celebrity, being too persistent and many more. This is unethical, no matter how you look at it.

And finally, even when there is no scandal in sight, a scandal is made out of thin air just to turn some heads i.e. a make-believe scandal. It's nothing new, and the main idea behind this is the miscommunication between the parties who are involved in the scandal. The journalists spread this misinformation in order to get some new information out of the parties involved, that they might give in under pressure. But this tactic has it's pifalls as well. The main demerit is the bad press that the person has to deal with during the time of scandal. This caused false information spread throughout the society, causing the formation of negative image in the mind of other people.

As stated, scandals tend to catch focus of people like coal catching fire, but this fire tends to get out of control if burned outside, rather than in a furnace. So, there should be a controlled measure taken on all scandals as they might be just a misinformation, ready to be lit and could cause a misfire in the process.