Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

“The truth is oblivious in the most cases and ambivalent in nature.” Why?

Because each side of a story has its own version of truth and unless something becomes a scandal real truth is not never revealed. As the prompt says, scandals prove beneficial and captures are attention to the matters which might have left unnoticed otherwise. Hence I align myself more towards believing scandals are beneficial for the society only till they are not completely tarnishing the image of those involved in the situation.

Eventhough ‘a scandal’ is a big term but due to fast tracked social media, they are converted into a movement. People often align them either as right wing or left and so does Media. In the fight to garner more supporters: reformists, new channels, influencers start to dug deep into the matter and juxtapose the many relevant facts. A celebrity divorcing his wife because of an abusive relationship caught various eye-balls because quite unconventionally this time a man was on the victim's side. It propelled the idea and strongly enforced that men who are usually countered as apathetic are also equally emotionally involved and are mentally ruptured by domestic violence. It is not the story of one who is physically strong wins. Hence it subtly floated that feminism is not only about woman but equal treatment of both genders. A scandal hence drew attention to domestic situation of emotionally tortured men and hightlighted if it has happened to a celebrity might be prevailing to common households as well.

Many may counter it by stating often scandals are simple issues blown out of proportion with ulterior motives of different organisations. News channels in order to get high viewership make deliberate attempts to create scandals of often trivial and perfunctionary matters. A simple act of Trump, the president of the US not wearing a mask has become revolution on social media. It caused an outrage when during a pandemic, he was sighted as not wearing mask. His speakers shared he wore the mask but took it out for pictures while others said, ‘he disbelieved in the use of mask’. The veracity of the matter is still unknown, yet he was condemned by people around the world and became a part of mockery. The act also became an agenda for opposition in their elections. Nevertheless, this scandal again helped WHO to bring attention to vitality of a mask and how necessary it was for one’s safety and of others during COVID 19. Eventhough people many people wore masks to show their disinclination and predilection towards opposition, the scandal worked in the favor of mankind.

Scandals often work as an eye-opener for those unrelated to the cause. They work as catastrophe for those who are related to it. Often the households, personal lives and private matters are exposed to an extent where there is no turning back. Hence scandals are unfathomable and outrage is never controlled so what seem beneficial to one might be devasting to the ones involved. Hence, we need to juxtapose both sides of the scandal and understand if it was worth it or not.