Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Scandals play a significant role in introducing problems that might have been overlooked by reformers. Scandals expose these problems to society, this situation benefits the society because they focus the attention on specific issues that generally have not been solved yet. I agree with the statement because the potential benefits arising from scandals contribute to enhance the social fabric.

Perhaps the scandals are more visible in the political field, where several advances in public policy have been shaped due to scandals. I could quote the Mexican political arena, where some revelations about a conflict of interest between the President of Mexico and a governmental contractor derived in a meticulous scrutiny of the relationship between public employees and potential contractors for the government. Laws preventing this corruption were created as a result of this scandal — while it is uncertain that these laws fully mitigate corruption the law-implementation by itself sets a standpoint for the rule of law. Society benefits from this scandal because it enhance its legal framework.

Social scandals brings the attention to social problems that end up beneficing the society. A remarkable example can be found in the rise of Mexican rebels in the state of Chiapas, where a group of unified farmers fought against the vicious corruptions arising from the Federal government. This social movement rapidly spread out across Mexico. Several sectors of society, such as renewed intellectuals and political figures, supported the movement. The emerging of this movement was considered a social scandal in the Mexican society because it pointed out the corruption and the poverty that farmers were facing on a daily basis, ultimately, it contributed to enhance the social fabric due to showing that a social movement can defy an authoritarian government.

Furthermore, in the economic field a significant scandal exposed by insider from the big banks caused the greatest financial recession —the Credit crunch—, where the discovering of a huge amount of low-credit mortgage granted from big banks to many borrowers created a financial crash. Global financial regulators did not foresee this recession in advance, this is because the old financial regulator system was no longer suitable to face this kind of financial crunch. Nonetheless, after the Credit crunch was contained the financial regulation system analyzed and corrected its mistakes during the Credit Crunch, this revised financial system had an improved regulatory framework. While this scandal had many negative consequence in the economic field it did help to enhance the economic architecture of society by improving the financial regular system.

Summing up, scandals address situations that end up bringing benefits to society. Reformers might not have seen these problems before and scandals show a path towards the resolution of such problems. I consider that this is extremely positive for the development of social fabric, therefore, I found myself in agreement with the author statement.