Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

The statement indicates that scandals have it positive effect of bringing problems to public attention where no other methods could ever have. Undeniably, people are usually too busy to focus on the realities, unless when something threatening like scandal pops up and becomes their conversation. Given that speeches from leaders and reformers are usually with low due credence and usually considered as bromide, it seems that nowadays, only scandalous news are able to catch public collective concern.

However, the media are facing revolutionized changes during these few years since the proliferation of new technologies such as the smartphone, on-line streaming video, social network. Now people are able to catch the news almost every time in every location through different news platform, and thus it’s harder for a single medium to approach mass audiences in a conventional way. For example, before the Internet became universal, people could only read the news through newspaper or TV channels. The media industry was not as competitive as it is today, and that is to say, on the other way around, the individual audience didn’t have too many choices but to receive whatever the TV channels broadcasts.

Today, the scenario changes rapidly that there are a lot of media start to focus on reporting scandals in order to catch enough audiences. As a result, the public is surrounded by harassing, shocking scandals from different news sources all the time. Over time, people are now getting tired of this news and would rather not to waste their time, so that scandals either become less powerful as they used to be, or they have to be much more shocking than usual.

In conclusion, scandals used to be a powerful tool not only for media to catch the mass population, but also help in bringing the important issue under the purview of the public. Nevertheless, the change in technologies lead to the revolution of the media industry and more types of new media diffuse the concentrate of the audience resulting in the less effectiveness of scandals.