"Scholars and researchers should not be concerned with whether their work makes a contribution to the larger society. It is more important that they pursue their individual interests, however unusual or idiosyncratic those interests may seem."

I don’t exactly concede with the author that “Research shouldn’t be concerned with it’s impact on society. Although there are factors such as self-interest that motivates someone to do research, it’s a bold statement to make researchers shouldn’t worry about their research’s impact.

In the slightest favour of the author’s argument, I acknowledge that significant research output can’t be possible to achieve if the researcher is not interested in it. According to a famous author “Everything is driven by fear or self-interest.” So self-interest is a tantamount factor in every form of study or research.

Also, every contribution to research is not just seen in terms of contribution to larger society. Most forms of research have some extent of impact to either researcher’s community or fulfilling student’s curiosity and learning. For example, theoritical research such as maths doesn’t have a direct impact on a larger society. But in bigger prospect, It helps the engineer community to innovate and design products based on those research, which have a direct impact.

However, the second statement of the author is highly critical to defend, as if any research doesn’t contain any fruitful outcome or any means of contribution to society, there isn’t any good reason to fund these research. The same resources can be used elsewhere to benefit other dedicated, hard-working researchers in the field who are really thriving to make an impact on the world, but don’t have the right opportunities to do so.

In a conclusive prospective, unusual or idiosyncratic research such as in the field of black magic, discovering eternity, can be potential a waste of resources, but some unusual research such as exploring the world, looking the life pattern of wild animals, and discovering the new ways of achieving internal happiness, these can be useful to a portion of audience and can bring social, and environmental diversity and moral happiness.