So long as they are aware of the dangers involved, adults should not be legally bound to use seat belts.

Road accidents are one of the major causes of loss of life of many people, most often news heard around the globe. As far the as the accidents go, it can happen at anytime but the losses of life or major harm can be avoided merely by using seat belts. The statement of the author claiming the adults should not be legally bound to use seat belts is highly controversial no matter if they are aware of dangers or not. So, i cannot agree with the claim and author seems to have gone so far on stating such claim which is not only extreme but highly dangerous.

The sole purpose of seat belts is to minimize the damage in the case of accidents. No matter how aware of the danger we are, the mishap is bound to happen: no matter how wary we are if the other party is not cautious enough we can end up crashing. Now, we might wonder why it should be legally bound, but the answer is quite common. We tend to go outrageous when we are not bound. Without legalization the carelessness arise which is very dangerous. In our daily lives, there are so many things we do for our own safety what we would not do if it was not illegal not to do so. There are many examples. Overdriving, this is not safe for us. Everybody knows this kills but we would do just that if it was not legally bound. Traffic lights are another examples, no-one would follow traffic light if we were not charged for breaking it.

Same is the case with seat belts, everybody knows that its for their own safety but nobody would put it on unless its bound to. Similar case has happened with my uncle. He is highly prudent man. Very much punctual and lived a simple and plane life. He always used to drive with seat belts on though, it is not illegal not to put on in my area. But one day, he was in hurry and as it would have not made such a big deal with the traffic rules and road was pretty clear he didn't mind to put seat belts on but all of a sudden his car crashed and he was seriously injured a massive head injury. This is a perfect case for why to make it legal to use seat belts no matter how aware an adult is of the dangers involved.

However, there are incidents which leads to seemingly cases of not requiring the use of seat belts, like for short trips and the difficulty that may arise from it but is always best to use the straps as in many cases this small piece of straps is the only thing that hangs between the life and death.

In the nutshell, seat belts has been the ultimate life savior in many cases and most of us tend to neglect using it unless we are legally bound to do so. It is in best interest of all to make it legal irrespective of whether an adult is concerned with the dangers that may lie ahead or not. After all, what harm may it cause but save numerous lives.