Some believe that local communities should rely on citizen volunteers for projects benefiting those communities (e.g., organizing youth sports leagues and collecting donations for charity). Others believe that local communities are better served when professional community leaders with the necessary skills and time instead handle such projects.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Helping the community improves the neighbourhood and the locality. When a local community is working together, the area is mantained. Cleaner neighbourhood results in higher property value, decent neighbours, and a positive overall progress in and around the area. Such communities rely on people to lead and work in the community. They can vary from local citizens to professional leaders, and it is the work of these people who advances the community.

I believe that a local community can benefit from professional community leaders, however citizen volunteers know what's best for the community. As they live nearby, they know what the locality needs, which problems need to be solved, what improvements needs be to done. Example: a local citizen volunteer will know if the local community needs to grow more trees or not on the basis of evaluation of the area. He/She knows which tree/plant to grow depending on the amount of sun, water availability, grazing by animals. In such a case an external professional community leader will not know what problems need to be solved.

A professional community leader will evaluate a community on a global scale. They will compare the efficiency of one community with others, and suggest improvements. As they are professional leaders, they also might have other work and might not give they complete attention to one community. Although they will be far more efficient than a citizen volunteers, they will need to understand the locality. Professional leaders will work for long durations, say 1 year or maybe 5 years, during this period they will know what problems arouse, how the community members are being treated, what needs to be done, as compared to citizen volunteers who will work in their free time only. As a volunteer, they give their extra time to the community, but this might not always be true; working in the community is not their primary work, they will have another primary job which will be their main source of income and hence they cannot give extended durations of time to the community.

This will lead to discontinuity in the projects they undertake. Example: Organizing youth sports leagues, such an event takes months of planning, need a concrete number of people to execute it and those members will have to be there from the start of the event to end. If those members are volunteers it will be very difficult for the community to perform smoothly. Here a professional leader will be suitable, he/she will undertake a project and will make sure that it reaches it's very end. Professional leaders have worked in other departments also, and hence have the necessary management and marketing skills needed. They know how to collect funds for charity, how to get sponsors for local events, what stratergies to implement. Such skills might not be there in citizen volunteers. Take for example cleaning the community roads. A citizen volunteer might tell residents to come together and clean together, bringing all the necessary supplies from their homes. On the other side a professional leader will first get the road evaluated and will put together a plan. If serious issues are there, he will call the required services to get the roads repaired, then will get professionally cleaned which will prolong the life of that same road.

All in all, having a citizen volunteer has it's pros and cons. If the community is small and not aiming for high targets citizen volunteers will be sufficient, however if the community is seeking professional guidance professional leaders should their choice. Eventhough they choose a professional leader, it is completely dependent on community members and they should accept him/her as their leader. Many times community members do not like external leaders coming and taking over their community and there will be some extent of resistance.