Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The best way to instill leadership in youth is to inculcate in them values like cooperation and respect for their co-workers. This can be achieved if the society starts teaching the youth to not take part in competition among their peers. Instead help their peers in recognising their weaknesses. In a competitive society, the mentality of the youth will be to win at any cost. This is usually more applicable in sporting activities and it is in this field we have seen the participants engaging themselves in unfair and illegal means such as using Performance Enhancing Drugs (PEDs) to get an unfair advantage. This would not be suitable in developing the youth.

A leader should be someone who can guide their employees or peers by respecting their opinions and cooperating with them in coming up with various solutions and not getting into a unhealthy competition. Competition in workplaces can be allowed to a certain extent but shouldn't be encouraged as it would lead to an aversion among the employees. Instead of coming up with a solution together, they would engage themselves in coming up with their own individual solutions and would try to undermine other solution. This would also result in tunnel vision among the youth as they would only be thinking about the solution from their own perspective. For success there should be cooperation among the workers and not competition.

Lets take an example if the company's leader wants to come up with a solution to tackle an issue which his company is facing. He asks the employers of his company to give their opinions about the task at hand. On coming up with some solution if the leader does not encourage or cooperate with the employees and tries to justify his own solution is better (due to him being brought up in a competitve environment, he tends to believe that listening to others is equivalent to admitting defeat) this would discourage his employees to come up with innovative solutions. Infact the next time the employees would just agree with whatever their leader comes up with.

Therefore, the leaders should always include everyone in the decision making process and should not be encouraging a competitive environment. Being competitve may serve purposes for short terms but in the long term there will be discord among the people. Hence it is the job of a leader to put an end to this and encourage cooperation among the employees. Cooperation will not only result in a happy environment but also lead to success in any field. It is always better if the people are on the same page and are ready to support and cooperate with each other and not the other way round.