Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Those two opinions are clearly opposite. One follows a more passionate view, while the other is marked by a more apathic and glacial logical thinking. In my perspective the first one is the most appropriate, even if both of them have good points.

First of all, if someone is more skilled or has a particular passion toward a certain field, it is probably going to be more enthusiastic while studying it, thus getting better grades and with lesser effort. In fact in Italy during highschool many students find themselves in trouble, having to study for subjects they hate and they can't get really understand, but when they finnally get to the universitiy, they start achieving high marks.

Getting higher marks makes them far more competent in their specific sector than their companions who opted for a different approach: following the best field to get a good job. While the former get brilliant results, the latter may have some difficulties and just don't satisfy the aspectatives of the agencies. Those usually search for the best they can get from an increasing number of candidates, since during the years more and more teenagers decide to go to the university continuing the study. This means that when they have to decide who to hire and who not to, they prefere someone who actually enjoys his job and isn't frustrated for having to do something they don't like. After all, who would like to cooperate and work with someone who doesn't really fit for the job and is always depressed?

It can be infered that this problem shouldn't concern the ones who decided to follow the "easy" way, going for a field with plenty of available jobs, but in reality the world of work is not that simple, and even if there are more opportunities to hire someone, they will still prefer those who distinguished themselves during the studies. For example, there's plenty of agencies who want to assume informatics, but only the most skilled are able to get very good jobs, like at Google. Moreover, we live in a dynamic world, in which the fields who grant more opportunities may vary quite fast, and since many years pass before the student completes his journey to get the degree, the new best fields may have changed meanwhile.

Another objection may be that the salaries are usually lower, but this is true only when we compare two workers that have accomplished the same results. Probably a mere lower dipendent of one of the "best" fields gets less than someone who is an eminence in one that is considered less lucrative. There's plenty of professor who get really decent salaries from their service to the university, and with every publication they get a large amount of money.

What requires a further evaluation is the fact that during a lifetime we tend to change our interests. This means that even if when someone start to study is really enjoying the subject, after a few years he may change his mind. Unluckly it's difficult to predict when this could happen, but it's still better to try to pursue a passion and lose interest after a while, than giving up and not having the opportunity to enjoy it.

In conclusion, it is indoubtable that some fields offer more chances than other to get a decent job. But it is also true that if we don't try to do what we like and what we love, we are probably going to fail, renouncing at the opportunity to live the life we dream. So, in my opinion, the most important thing is to enjoy what we do, expecially if we are going to do it for the rest of our life.