Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

For nearly as far as time has gone art has been the first ever expression of human emotion. It is the one language that is universally understood, appreciated and emoted. With the progression of time, art has evolved into many branches and so has its admirers. For art to thrive, it needs to be supported and encouraged. I agree with the idea of the government supporting art and artists to flourish.

Patrons of art although are very active but sadly are very few. Only prominent artists can find themselves in the good favour of their patrons. The young artists have a tough time funding their work. The government can play a vital part in providing financial impetus to such artists. Students are given scholarships to pursue art for higher studies. Also the government has set up cultural centers in every city for encouraging art and has built state of art infrastructure to make it available to the masses. There is a notion that authority kills art. Many artists have been forced to flee their countries because of their radical views . This although is sad but is also a victim of unfortunate circumstances. The government of the country has many times with change of power granted priviledges to these artists.

A nation is made up of different people and so is the art of that region. In the medival times, the patrons of art were the rulers of the kingdoms. They used to send artists across countires to explore new places and learn new styles. In todays scenario the government has become the the representation of the people. It has the most outreach within the nation and abroad . With its tremendous resources that can be allotted towards developing art, the government also plays keen role in revival of dying artforms. For instance the Government of India has done an excellent job in giving tribal artists of India a stage to showcase their artform by the means of several welfare schemes. Many other countries have set up similar initiatives to revive dying art indegenous to them. The regular showcase of talent through various government controlled mediums such as television and radio has made art accessible to all and increased its reach to the masses.

To sum it up art can be flourished and enjoyed through combined efforts of artists as well as the authorities. It is the duty of the government not to restrict the creativity of the artist and let his/her art flow. The artist on the other hand should take the most advantage of all the facilities made available so that his/her artform thrives.