Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve. Others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgment.

In democratic countries, peoples have the right to elect their government. Obviously, they would choose the government who is educated, well behaved, and whose thought about the fairest of peoples. When considering about responsibilities of government, there are two dichotomies, whereas, some believe that government officials consider about the will of the people they serve, in contrast, others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgment where my opinion aligns with the second half of the prompt.

Sometimes people are poorly informed about the important issue therefore if the government officials approved the people will unquestioningly it will create the worst situation for society. For example, during the second wave of coronavirus in Bangladesh and the same time, there was eid season, the government would decide that implement lockdown, moreover, shopping malls would become close and the businessmen were started striking against lockdown, therefore, the government has been forced to lift the lockdown. As a result, the coronavirus diffused fiercely.

Moreover, when any decision of a government official’s against with some group of people, they are providing impede to implement this decision even though it is good for society. Therefore, if the government considered their argument, the big interest will be hampered. For example, When the Mayor of Sylhet City Corporation intended to augment the beauty of Sylhet city by expanding the road, he encounters a dispute with some groups who are to occupied the surrounding area of the road. However, the mayor continued his aesthetic beauty enhancement work without considering their dispute.

Some may argue that, if the government officials were corrupted, will they perform their duties properly? It may true sometimes but, If the anti-corruption organization are concern about this issue that may mitigate the problem. Besides, the fear about the consequences of their current work would have a negative impact on the next election, this notion will stop them from corruption.

Considering the nuances of the issues, In most cases, the people are divided and poorly informed about an important issue consequently, they will fail to take the right decision and since the government officials are well known, educated and experienced body, therefore, people should rely on the government’s decision.