Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more influence on children's behavior.

The prompt gives the two opposing beliefs about the increasing violent behaviour, especially among the children. While some suggests that this behaviour is adopted because of increasing violence in media, others believe that the children’s behaviour have more influence of their peer group and parents. I believe that the parents and peer group of the child plays major role in shaping the child’s behaviour. However, the media could also impacts the child, certainly at lower degree.

The behaviour of the child is influenced by the surroundings. This includes the upbringing of the child, school environment as well as the news or television which child watches throughout the day. Therefore, to inculcate positive values and morals in the child, the child should be exposed to that kind of environment. For instance, if the child’s parents are always fighting and beating each other, the child would think this is acceptable behaviour. The child’s brain will be wired in the same way as the surrounding environment and thus, he/she is likely to follow that trait to adulthood if not corrected properly.

The child’s peer group also plays an important role into shaping the habits and values of the child. If the group of classmates are constantly bullying and pestering, at some point there is high possibility that the child will fight back and this could turn into a debacle. The one thing to notice here is, why the children bullied in the first place? They might have learnt this trait from anywhere, it could be their from parents who constantly try to dominate each other, or perhaps from the television, or other peers.

As crime is increasing, there are lots of news regarding this on the media. The child does not have acumen to differentiate between right and wrong behaviour, unless taught properly. If the child is exposed to the media telecasts of some crimes such as violent fighting without correct explaination of this activity and its consequences, the child will learn negative things subconsciously.

In conclusion, a child should be given proper information about the morally correct and incorrect values and lessons to avoid the violent fightings. The environment which includes parents, peers, media, or daily exposures to activities plays the most important role during the developing age of the child.