Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

The author has contended two opposing beliefs of the people about choosing the field of study. Some of them suggest that college students should select their career field based on the consideration of their talents and interests. On the contrary, others believe that students should choose their field according to the demand and availability of jobs. Both of the sides have their own reasoning which will be discussed below.

People usually say that one should follow his/her passion but do not consider the struggles and underlying hardships one had to go through while following that ardent if the choice of industry is not in demand. The art industry requires great finesse, skills, and pure passion towards conveying messages or emotions through a single piece of art. One needs to be fully devoted to the process in order to make a masterpiece. But can anyone make a living out of it? Well, the answer depends on various circumstances. There are many artists who successfully made money in this industry and are also well known due to their artistic expertise. But the majority of the people in this industry are struggling despite having decent knowledge and skills. Therefore, one should also consider other factors such as financial stability and demand while choosing the field of study.

I believe that college students should be first exposed to the knowledge and various streams of study before they make any decision. If the student comes from poor financial status he/she is less likely to follow their passion even if he/she wants due to obligations. Also, some interests do not provide the basis for a great career. These interests could be followed alongside the main career so the individual does not become insolvent.

In conclusion, while choosing the field of study the student must consider all the possibilities that could occur in future. The privileged students have an option to opt for their interests, while the one struggling to remain solvent have priority to become stable and thus, choose the career that is in demand and could provide a decent job.