Government should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Does anyone preclude scientific discovery without experimenting and analyzing different methods? The answer to this question is clear no. One cannot predict the outcome or consequences of any research prior to it’s execution. Therefore, the author’s claim that government should not fund any scientific studies whose consequences are unclear is not suitable. In every sector, there is always a scope for improvement and thus, further research can lead to disclosing the answers of the unknown.

Today’s world is advanced and much ahead from past centuries and a huge part for this is because of the new discoveries. The Newton’s discovery of the existence of gravitational force, the quantum theory, invention of electricity, telephones, etc are the examples that prove the importance of new research and how it could be helpful to the people in the world.

The medical sector, today, is able to cure most of the diseases by which people were dying in the past. For example, the discovery of the polio vaccine has almost eradicated the disease. If the funding was not available for this research, the people would still be dying because of the polio. At the time of this result, it was not certain that this medicine would prevent the disease, but by trial and error, the solution was found which helped in saving many lives.

On the other hand, the scientific research could also have an ugly side. The development of nuclear weapons are the perfect example. The egoism of the power and domination has led to made discoveries which are harmful and injurious to the human kind. Hiroshima and Nagasaki, the two cities of Japan are still suffering from the adverse effects of the nuclear bomb attack which was dropped by America dusring World war II. This shows how deadly can research could be if not controlled properly.

In conclusion, every scientific research could lead to advancement by which thousands of people lives could be impacted or it could lead to the destruction. However, if new research is carried out in controlled and required measures, the evil side could be eliminated. Thus, government should fund and support the scientific research as it could open the gateways to the new opportunities, discoveries and betterment of the world.