In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for the plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer a significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing.

The Mayor of the city of Hillview believes that the unemployment issues will be mollified if the city council authorizes the large campaign to attract the automobile manufacturing company and offer tax incentives. The unemployment in the city increased because of the abandonment of Computech, a computer software programming company last year. He believes that the new establishment of the automobile company plant in their area will be helpful to the city’s residents. However, the Mayor’s argument is based on many assumptions which makes the argument unconvincing.

Firstly, the Mayor suggests that the building of automobile manufacturing plant will solve the unemployment issue. Further, the mayor suggests that the Hillview landfill which has been undeveloped for several years will be a perfect place for this plant. However, he/she has given no reasoning about the reliability of the plant on that landfill. It could be possible that the construction is not feasible there. If this is the case, it would be unlikely that Autotech company would not invest for the plant in Hillview city. This undermines the mayor’s argument.

Secondly, no views and interests of the automobile company is provided. If the company is not interested in expanding their business or does not have enough funding to start the manufacturing at new location, there is no point in discussion then.

Thirdly, the mayor has not provided the growth and future of the company. If the company would not be able to provide the minimum wages to the workers, the mayor should look for alternative solutions to this unemployment problem.

Further, the author states the reason for unemployment to be the abandonment of the computer software company. Even if the automobile company opens its plant in the city, it does not gaurantee that, it will hire employees from the Hillview city. Moreover, as most of the residents worked in software company, they may lack necessary skills which are required for automobile company. Therefore, this assumption of the mayor does not hold true.

Finally, the mayor asks city council to arrange a large campaign to attract the company. To make it more lureable, the major suggests council to offer tax incentives. However, despite the benefits, if the company, it is possibility that the company does not find it profitable to invest in new plant in Hillview as the company’s overall cost increases, for instance, if the hillview has more transportation costs their other plant or if the popluation purchasing the car are low in surroundings, the company might not invest.

In conclusion, the Mayor’s argument is not cogent. He/she needs to offer realiable statistics that the company is interested in manufacturing their plant and it is beneficial to both residents of Hillview and company. Also, the mayor needs to explore other options that would contribute in alleviating the unemployment issue.