Some people believe that it is helpful to view a challenging situation as an opportunity for

personal growth. Others believe that reimagining challenging situations this way occupies

too much of the focus one needs to face challenges effectively.Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

It can be agreed that life is a bumpy roller coaster, full of turns, dips and dives. To smoothly fly through life is not possible; in order to become the people we are today, we need to have had struggles and we need to have learned from them. There are many quotes and sayings that people learn from a young age including "when life gives you lemons, make lemonade," "what doesn't kill you only makes you stronger," and "learn from your mistakes." The core message in all of these important life lessons, is that when life is hard and becomes challenging, it is important to view it as a learning and growing opportunity. This allows a person to be able to better address and move through the next challenge life will give them. It is important in certain situations to not focus on how to grow from a challenge, and rather focus on how to get through the challenge with all of one's brain power. In most life challenges, it is important to not only move through the challenge but also make sure to view it as a way to personally grow and learn so that future challenges can become easier to move through.

To demonstrate the validity in both views, I will begin with discussing the role of an emergency room nurse. If an emergency room nurse, who faces workplace challenges constantly, views each challenge as a way to grow personally then she could put herself and others at risk. For example, when a new patient comes into her unit and has a condition that she has never worked with before this nurse may become nervous and concerned due to her lack of knowledge. If she begins to focus on the idea that this challenge will allow her to grow personally, become stronger and learn how to handle unknown situations easier in the future, then she may not have as much time to brush up on the information she needs. She should rather use all her brain power and focus to address each new case she gets in order to provide the most thorough patient care possible. At home and in her personal life, it makes more sense to look at challenges as a way to grow personally, when another person's life is not on the line.

When not in an emergency environment when each minute is important, it is easier to focus on one's personal growth in the face of challenges. For example, heart break and loss is something that we can appropriately assume almost all people go through in life. Loss, whether due to heart break or death is one of life's greatest challenges. As is taught in psychology, there are multiple steps to grieving loss which includes denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and then acceptance. This progression of emotion is one that leads a person to a path of growth and strength. To reach a point of acceptance for the loss requires a lot of emotional work. When facing loss and keeping in mind that "what doesn't kill us only makes us stronger," one has the opportunity to focus on positivity and a higher power. The hope that one will grow from pain keeps many people out of the depression and darkness that comes with loss. People who do not view loss as a way to grow and become stronger are at higher risk to hurt themselves or even end their lives due to a sense of hopelessness.

Looking at challenges as a way to personally grow is coveted in our society. One of the most common job interview questions is "tell us about a time you faced a challenge and what you did to grow/learn from it." This writer has been asked this question in almost all 10 job interviews attended. Note that the interviewer does not simply ask "tell us about a time when you faced a challenge and what you did to fix it..." because they want to know how one grows and learns from a challenge. If someone just continues to work through each challenge but does not take a moment to see how they grew and what they learned from it, they may not be deemed a good employee for a company. Additionally, in schools, teachers take pride in teaching children lessons from all the mistakes present, for it's best to "learn from your mistakes," and not just "deal with your mistakes" as the second view contends.

In conclusion, there is a time and place for one to view a challenge as a way to grow personally. This time and place is not when it involves someone's life or someone in an emergency, but it can absolutely be in many other situations. In our society we were raised to learn from each challenge and view it as a way to grow and become stronger. This view allows for one who is experiencing a challenge to move through it with hope and positivity, which gives them more of a change to survive the challenge than fall under the weight of it.