Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are unwarranted, based on the existing evidence for global climate change.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Is there a need, for the denizens of developed nations to change their lifestyle because of global climate change? Or is it not that harsh condition to make people change their lifestyle and reduce energy consumption? People believe in either views. I, however, would want to support the claim that people in developed countries should reduce their energy consumption and switch to a more sustainable lifestyle.

A big source for generating energy are the fossil fuels. As it is obvious that fossil fuels produce many waste by-products, they are certainly not a good source to produce energy. Moreover it is already time to switch to an alternate fuel, because there is already enough pollution done by mankind. Some scientists and researchers also say that at the current rate of pollution, global temperature will keep on rising and melting up the glaciers that would eventually increase the water level. They predict that in some years many coastal cities around the world would be completely submerged in water.

Moreover, fossil fuels are anyway decreasing in quantity and the population is constantly increasing. It is well understood that fossil fuels would not be a viable option to produce energy. People would ultimately have to move towards sustainable energy sources like solar and wind energy. Also, since the need of energy will always increase with the increase in population, it is really important to people to reduce their energy consumption per capita.

Since the energy generation by renewable sources, as of now, is not that good, governments around the world rely heavily on fossil energy. It would not be easy to generate the amount of energy required by the whole nation by means of renewable sources. Therefore, it is highly recommended to the people, that they reduce their energy consumption and shift towards a more sustainable lifestyle. For example, people could put of solar tiles in their homes to generate energy.

Some people could say that global climate change is not that great so as to make people change their lifestyle. They believe that we can still survive with the current way of living. But, why take the risk? Why should we wait till the time when climate change occurs at an extreme level and we do not have some viable solution to the problem? As the saying goes, precaution is better than cure. We should start moving towards a more sustainable lifestyle and try to figure out ways in we can generate a lot of renewable energy.

In conclusion, I would agree to the claim that climate change is increasing and people should reduce their energy consumption and shift towards sustainable lifestyle.