'Some people believe that the most important qualities of an effective teacher are understanding and empathy. Others believe that it is more important for teachers to be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.'

'Teachers are the lamps of oil that burn themselves to provide light to their students' - a saying that is immensely popular and especially in the Indian subcontinent. The ideal type or the significant qualities of the teachers and their methodology has been dynamic or ever-changing since ancient times. However, even with the passage of time, the only role that has remained statuary is the guidance that they offer to their students. In the modern times, it has become an issue of intellectual debate for many educationists regarding, What should be the best approach of the teachers to convey knowledge to the students? Or to be more clear, What are the most appealing attributes of an effective teacher? Whether the teacher should focus on understanding the students with a delicate approach of empathy or should try to be more rigorous and demanding to the students to ensure the quality of learning? To address this question, it is important to consider the characteristics of an effective teacher.

There's no rigid definition of an effective teacher, and I do not believe, one can exist. It is highly subjective question, in other words; a question open to interpretation. In my opinion, an effective teacher is someone whose lectures are eagerly anticipated by students and delivered in a captivating manner, ensuring both engagement and the imparting of knowledge. To be more subjective I believe today, it's more important for a teacher to understand students and be emphatic towards them. You may agree or disagree to my perspective. However, I am going to assert arguments that might change your perspective if you disagree with me.

Firstly, the modern classrooms have become heterogeneous (or diverse in a sense) which means that the students in a classroom belong to different cultures, countries, backgrounds, etc. As an example, in my batch of Grade 12, the total strength of the class was six, out of which four were Indian and two were Turkish as of their 'nationality'. There were four girls and two boys if you consider 'sex' as a criterion of classroom diversity. As of religious differences, four were Muslims and two were Hindus. We have had different views on a number of issues, for example preference of right winged ideology over left winged ideology. To accommodate the diversity, my teacher used both English and Urdu as the medium of instructions. He, despite being a right winger never propagated his beliefs and demonstrated the bans and booms of both the ideologies. He recognised that it wasn't easy for Turkish students to understand the study of India Society and thus never forced it. As a result, we all cleared our examination with flying colors with all of us scoring above 90%. Similarly, in such scenarios, it becomes important for the teacher to recognise the diversity and to respect the differences of socialisation amongst students rather than endeavoring to provide a rigid perspective or analysis of an issue.

Secondly, in the recent times, the matters related to mental health are increasing and problems like anxiety, depression and fear of being left out are increasing among teenagers. This maybe due to lack of understanding or even their inability to properly know about their own selves. In this case, teachers must act as effective guides and should try to be empathetic towards students and try to listen to and understand their problems rather than being demanding or rigorous in their expectations. They must recognise that every child is born different, with different capabilities as failing to meet high expectations of teachers can lead to mental stress among students for example, many students drop their school and some even attempt suicides.

Thirdly, it is found in psychological observations conducted by several European universities in the field of education that it is more probable for the students to become more productive and sharp in a subject, if they develop interest in the subject and the lecture (that depends upon the teaching methodology of the teacher) , which in most cases is not possible if teachers remain rigorous. Also, if a student is forced to pursue any field or a subject without her will, it may not only reduce her productivity but also her interest towards the subject and may be towards the school or in some cases, towards the complete education procedure. As a result of a similar situation, one of my friends, left the school (as she was forced to pursue dance) and it did not align to her cultural values.

From these arguments it becomes evident, that teachers must become more empathetic to cope up with the modern developments in the changing education system and the perception of students.These arguments may be just a few examples, and there could be many more. As I mentioned earlier, this is a highly subjective topic, and there may be counterarguments like rigorous teaching allows the teacher to deliver more knowledge to students in the way he wants. The demanding expectations of the teachers may allow students to study more seriously. This may also result to a better CPA of students. However, I believe this is somehow 'an outdated system'. There can also be alternative perspectives that do not align with either approach like those who consider peer to peer education or home tutoring to be better options. Ultimately, it depends upon you in developing an understanding of the issue.