Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

A leader is a representative of a community that is unanimously appointed by the community because the people see that he is a virtuous person. He has certain principles and objectives that focus on the betterment of the entire community. He has the thinking capabilities to look at the broader aspect and not have narrow-minded thinking. Therefore, I believe that the ability to follow one’s own principles and collective objectives are some of the essential qualities of an effective leader for the below reason.

When a leader is elected by the public, the public has a certain expectation that the leader will listen to our opinions and follow whatever we state. Consider a situation, where a leader has thought that by erecting an aesthetic monument in the state could act as a good source of a tourist destination and thereby boost the tourism industry in the state, open a small business in the state and also improve the economy of the state by the boost in the tourism industry. However, on the other side people want the leader to invest all the money of the state to immediately help the needy. This is where the problem in public opinion lies wherein the population cannot really look at the big picture and are more focused on the need that’s present right now. The plan of the leader was to create an investment by building the monument which would ensure steady growth and income to the entire state. However, if yielded to public opinion the leader would’ve solved the people’s problem on a short-term basis. Whereas, if he would’ve gone ahead with his initial objective, he would have created a long-term solution for the entire state. The above example focuses majorly that people opinion relies solely on focusing on personal needs and not on the bigger aspect because the leader is the one that has to consider all the possible parameters before coming to a conclusive decision.

However, many times it does happen that the government have to consult the people as to what betterment could be done when he is facing a conundrum on which problem to be solved first. This is where the leader has to focus on the heinous problem at the hand and try to solve that first. This is a situation where the leader who receives multiple people opinion and has to choose from a single one and hope that it does better for society. In conclusion, A leader should follow his principles and objectives by considering the people’s opinion and come up with a conclusive decision that goes hand in hand with the people’s opinion and his virtues.