Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently

A leader is person who leads the public in the right direction by adhering to the principles and moving forward for the development of mankind in every possible way. The most essential quality of a leader is indeed to remain consistent and should have a clear objective on the path. The public would believe a leader if they adhere to the principles and trust them at difficult timing. This quality of unwavering commitment has been seen in many leaders in the history who changed the world for betterment.

First of all, when we look at a successful leader in the past, the first thing that strikes our mind is their persistence. One of the great leaders would be Mahatma Gandhi, who strove for the Independence of India. He always followed his path of non-violence even when the public urged him to take up a war. His steadfast nature is appreciated throughout the world and has inspired many people. Mahatma Gandhi never wavered from his principles which was to suppress the violence and was indeed successful.

Additionally, a leader is trusted and followed by the public for the stability they possess. How would a common man trust a person who is erratic and changing according to the situation without commitment? Another example for a great political leader who brought a big change in the world would be Nelson Mandela. As a leader of the anti-apartheid movement in Africa, he was courageous and persistent is his efforts to abolish the discrimination among the black and whites in the society. This reminds me of another profound leader Martin luther king. He was a confident leader and lead people in the right path and was a prominent person in the civil rights movement. The common attribute seen in these leader is always the persistence and the commitment to their work which is recognized eventually.

However, one might say that adhering to the principles would sometimes reflect a damaged output and would hurt the public, who have a right to express their needs. This has to be kept in mind and therefore amendments have to be taken when there is a need. For example, in India, the age minimum age for a child labor was 14. But, with time, this principle has been changed and now the minimum age is 18. Principles are always set according to a requirement at that scenario and they should be refined to move forward rather than being stuck at an old rule.

All in all, a leader should be consistent and work for the public by following rules . Albeit, Political leaders have to consider the needs of the public, they should stick to their principles and this would help them achieve their goals.