Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

“Does political leaders are effective”? Research has shown that one way of judging it through their resolve towards public opinion or determination towards specific set of rules or principles. Therefore, the effectiveness of political leaders may vary from the angle someone viewing it. The prompt here, presents a controversial question about how political leaders should act in order to be effective. The prompt has given the two divergent views to measure the effectiveness. In my view, the leader must remain firmed on his specific principles and objectives. The reasons justify my view are mentioned in the following paragraphs.

First of all, leaders fabricate their agenda or campaign as per their ideology and tweak it as per the needs of the people they are representing. Therefore, after being elected to the government, their effectiveness must be measured by sticking to their agenda. For instance, in an election campaign, Prime Minister Modi assured the citizen of India to create employment for its youth by bringing in investments and companies from abroad. By following this mandate after being a part of government, the research proves that he was able to create 4 million employment in the country. Further, the Prime Minister of Pakistan affirmed its commitment to eradicate corruption from the bureaucracy and free-ills to political leaders that’s what made him effective since he had done something unprecedented. He implemented austerity measures on all government officials and leaders that made the country to save huge amount of money from corruption. Both the examples show that by not being deviating from their principles, both leaders touted as effective leaders. It matters because that were their principle that made them effective.

Secondly, the financial and economic health of a country cannot be subjected to the public opinion as research has shown the massive shocks when Zimbabwe and Venezuela government acceded to the public demand. For instance, the leader of the government in charge of finance or treasury of India remain committed to the principle of not increasing the fiscal deficit beyond 3.4% of its GDP which helped India to entrenched the confidence of investors in the Indian economy. Further, the principle of not going abroad for raising money dogged by the Indian leaders made the country immune to external vulnerabilities of interest rates and inflation. Both the instances justify the benefits by being committed to principles. It is appreciable because here the principles saved India from external shocks.

Thirdly, when the situation of precarious national security or war erupts, here also the commitment of leaders to their principles gives strength to its citizen. For instance, after being part of the government, the principle of Indian leaders to tackle the problem of militancy and terrorism with bold steps mitigated the problem of Kashmir Valley as research has shown that. Further, the objectives of political leader to procure advance war machinery and equipment from Russia and USA made the enemy of India to restrict jingoism against India. Both the cases exemplify that by being circumscribed to their principle Indian citizen were assured that they are being taken care of. It is significant since the matter of national

security cannot be subjected to whims and fancies of public opinion.

Of course however, some would argue that had leaders succumbed to public opinion they would have been more effective. However, the proponents of this idea must know that leaders come and form the government and run it according the amalgam of public opinion and their principles. And moreover, as research has shown that public opinion is irrational and pedestrian because of limited understanding of the macro factors affecting the country. Therefore, in conclusion, the will of the leaders to restrict themselves to their objectives will made them effective and will ensure their re-appointment to the government.