Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

I would lurch towards the first group of people who believe education sets us mentally and spiritually free. Nonetheless, there are certainly cases when the other side of the opinion takes a stronger position that formal education limits our minds and spirits.

Let's take the example of pursuing formal education in the fields of computer science. The more you know about computers, the internet, artificial intelligence, and machine learning, the more fascinated you are with the benefits mankind has got from this field. This not only makes you feel you are more informed but also makes you believe you are in control. Similar feeling an individual can have who is majoring in construction engineering. In the past, humans were not able to build huge towers for they were not having the right and appropriate machinery to build surprising tall buildings. With the exponential growth in all disciples, now we have the necessary tools and knowledge of how to attain excellence which was not achieved before. this has only been possible because education was enlightening our minds, broadening our horizon and expanding our thinking. Needless to say, a sense of accomplishment elevates the spirit which in turn keeps us motivated to achieve more and more.

On the contrary, unless we are made aware of the consequence of an action, we are not much worried. One of the obvious examples would be piracy. "Stealing" software or music from the internet is not considered a serious crime. However, once we know, how serious this offense is, we become more careful and vigilant. Educating oneself about the law and then adhering to that law actually keep you safe, at the expense of being more cautious