Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The claim states two perceptions regarding education, one stating it's role in setting our mind and spirit free, while the other juxtaposing by stating that education hindes the growth of free unrestrained thoughtprocess. In my view, education is a very powerful asset for the human mind and acts as base for exploring new ideas and concepts. It encourages logical and analytical reasoning and makes us critical thinkers. Though, at times it may impede us from exploring unchartered zones of our mind. Hence, I agree to both statements in the presented claim.

Being literate and learned in today's world is the need of the hour. Education helps turn ordinary people into independent thinkers of tomorrow's world. "The pen is mightier than the sword" is a popular saying which hughlights the importance of beinng educated. Malala, the very well-known education activist described the same and revolutionized the way education was percieved altogther. She believed and preached through her powerful speeches and interviews how education could radically influence the future of her country Pakistan and the world. She emphasized on the fact that tutelage inculcates in one, the freedom of speech and thought, which are not only essential for growth of a person, but turns them into self reliable innovative beings and sets us apart from those who lack any formal education. Hence, I feel formal education is necessary not only for an individual to succeed but is the tool for development of a nation altogether as, an educated populations leads to generation great leaders, innovators, discoverers and artists.

Further, I feel education should not be limited to just textbooks and school curriculum. One should engage in reading fiction books which will help them enhance not only their language skills but also play a key role in stimulating their creative bones. One should engage in literature and art to attain an imaginative outlook to life. Van Gogh's hardly did not have any big degrees but his art conquered him and he went on to paint various master pieces, the most famous one being "The Starry Night." A very interesting aspect about this painting is his brush strokes which respresnt turbulent waters, which aligns exactly with one of the most complicated theories of turbulences still under study by various exceptional mathematicians and physicists around the world, with many prestigious degrees. This makes me wonder, can formal education really turn us into geniuses?

Who does not know the story of Albert Einstein and his theorems and complex concepts which are still the basis of most physics theories of today's world. He was regarded as a poor student by his teachers, but he did not let it affect him. He let his mind wander off and this led to one of the greatest discoveries in the stream of physics and maths - E+mc^2 equation.

I believe, education does not only lie in books, if we look around, we will see that we can learn so much from every little thing. Look at the branches of the trees, which show depict fractals, a mathematical concept, or the symmetry seen in flower. The streamline flow of rivers as opposed to the ocean currents and tidal waves. The movement of the planets in our solar system and the millions of turn us in inquisitve beings and when this is combined with formal education, we can literally surpass any obstacle presented to us.