Some people believe that traveling to and living in numerous places increases one's ability to relate and connect to other people. Others believe that this ability is better cultivated by living in one place and developing a deep understanding of that community.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

While every community is evolved in its own ways in terms of a variety of cultures, traditions, and ethical/moral values, one can only acquire a limited amount of understanding about a particular community. The world is a massive habitat of differently varying people and thus varying communities and cultures. I mostly agree with the prompt that emphasizes the fact that rather than being in one place and dwelling your experience on the same repetitive traditions, a person needs to move around more and explore numerous communities and plentiful ways of living from different people all around the world.

To begin, the world consists of 7 large continents with over 100 plus countries, which means, we share the planet with other millions and billions of humans. Statistically, there are more than 1000 different cultures let alone in the most multicultural country, i.e.; India, but also in other countries including the West. Can a person who has lived in the east all their life, be able to even closely fit in the Western culture? The answer to this question is no. Similarly, a person from the West, who has been taught the table etiquette of forks and knives, will not be able to understand the ethical concept of Indians consuming their food with bare hands.

Moreover, one’s ability to relate and connect to other people requires them to compare a variety of cultures to be able to find out where they’d actually fit in. A person cannot conclude what they relate to based on living only one scenario out of a thousand others. The best example of this would be the way women lived in the 80s. Every woman who grew up in the early 80s and late 70s didn’t have the fortune to learn about their fundamental rights as a sex that deserves equal opportunities compared to the male sex. This confinement led them to restrict themselves in household chores and not acknowledge themselves to be way more than that. Voting rights in the U.S. for women have been implemented after the British culture was completely evaded during independence. This proves the point that a person/community has to be enlightened with various other cultures without being confined to just one culture and interpret for themselves what they fit the most in.

Although there are marvelously deep concepts in some cultures and traditions of the world that one needs to spend more energy and time in order to understand the true meaning and reasonable analysis of a particular culture a community is centered around, it simply negates the fact that no matter how many years, how much of quantitively enormous energy you spend in, or how deeply you try to connect with a community’s culture, there is always something more out there, awaiting your discovery.