Claim: Young people's tendency to make extensive use of portable devices like smartphones and tablets has hurt their development of social skills.

Reason: These devices encourage users to form artificial personalities and relationships online rather than fully and honestly engaging with the people around them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The first ever portable mobile device was invented back in the 1980s and was 10 inches approximately 25 cm long. Moving forward in time, we have comparatively more convenient portable electronic devices, that are much smaller in size. In today’s era, this highlights the fact that, with advanced technologies and increasing convenience, it is understood that people will expand their comfort zone as time and new innovations permit them to. I mostly agree with the claim that the extensive use of portable devices has deeply affected the development of social skills of young people for the stated reason(encouragement of forming artificial personalities online rather than honest engagement with real people).

However, I contend that these devices have a much larger effect on young minds than contemplated for additional reasons. To begin, Personality surveys and statistics all around the world show that there are 25% more introverted people when compared to the other sections of a pie chart depicting various personalities that include percentages of extroverts, ambiverts, and even socially anxious groups of people. Devices like smartphones, tablets, and even portable laptops these days, have made it easier for people who have difficulty interacting with other people around them, to avoid mingling up, but rather hide behind a 4-inch screen and be dishonest with their true selves via texting/SMS, etc.

Moreover, there surely are fields in which this wisdom does not apply. Some people would prefer late-night talks under an open sky or spending time with others in numerous forms of social gatherings like parties, family functions, and offline meetings, smart devices have gradually terminated the discovering abilities of many young minds to just a small screen and have restricted their capabilities to do much more by unveiling the digital and artificial personalities. For instance, platforms like Instagram and Twitter have allowed many young minds to make the current world issues trend all over the internet, but what bugs me is that these platforms do not let people hold the same voice they’re able to boldly present online, before the real executives, i.e.; the government.

Although the world has advanced to a great extent in terms of technology and artificial intelligence, humans need to get out of their comfort zones and allow themselves to evolve in a much larger social world where an outrageous number of opportunities await them to take over and bring about another revolution free of mind-numbing distractions like these devices that limit their capabilities and potentials.