Claim: Young people's tendency to make extensive use of portable devices like smartphones and tablets has hurt their development of social skills.

Reason: These devices encourage users to form artificial personalities and relationships online rather than fully and honestly engaging with the people around them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The auther opined his opinion that. the use of electronic device will have adverse effect on their social skill by reasoning that they will focus more on online relatioship rather than that in reality. Here we will define "social skills" as the ability to keep in touch with old friends and meet new ones. I strongly disagree with this argument and my view is that the development of such teachnologies just enhanced out social skill.

First, and also most importantly, the use of portable device makes social connection more accessible, and therefore enhanced our social skill. Before those devices are created, people need to communicate face to face or through mail, which is extremely inconvenient and takes spate of time. Old friends are easily to get disconnected when people moving to another place. However, it cames much easier for nowadays as people could always keep in touch using Internet. Therefore, the existence of portable devices actually augments out social skills.

On the other hand, Portable devices provide young people chance to meet more diversified firends so that they need to learn how to communicate with people from different background. With access to a more diversified world, teenagers could have much greater chance to meet people from differnet region, racial, and even country, and they will realize the differnece among people. For instance, some manners treated as polite in one culture may be seen as offensive in another culture, and learning this is rather salubrious for social skill development. Therefore it would be beneficent to use portable device for developting social skill.

However, there is still a very smaller group of people used those devices as the author claimed that they only focused on their artificial personality, but that is becuase they misused such technology. Furthermore, they are only a diminutive part of young people, while most benefit from the advantages of portable devices. Thus the claim that using portable device would have adverse effect in interpersonal skills would be too categorical, ignoring the positive ramification it brings for the majority.

In conclusion, younger generations get positive oucome in using portable devices by obtaining a more accessible approach for a more diversified social activities.