Some people believe that traveling to and living in numerous places increases one’s ability to relate and connect to other people. Others believe that this ability is better cultivated by living in one place and developing a deep understanding of that community.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Sojourning to different places enhances the person's ability to grasp and commiserate with different communities. Living in different places unquestionably exposes the person to variegated cultures. Moreover, the disparate environments ranging from very cold weather cities to warmer climate places also expand the understanding of a person to relate the terminologies used in various societies. However, digging deeper about a community or a culture will always require the person to stay longer and spend more time with the populace of the particular society. Often time, the investigator, who wants to understand a community, will fall in love with the culture of the indigenous people and write poems and stories to explicate the progeny about the culture.

The people, who travel to different places around the globe, have a higher chance to sympathize with different societies. For instance, a traveler residing in Africa can easily relate the tribulations of the native population with other countries' population. Therefore, after moving from Africa to India, they can understand the problems faced by slum areas present in India. The travelers can also help different societies by providing them the solutions to their problems. It is very likely that they have seen the problems which are more or less the same in other countries. Therefore, they will also have a deeper understanding of how others have solved their problems. Consequently, they can become the intermediary between two different societies and can explicate solutions to the tribulations.

Traveling also allows them to discover eclectic cultures across the continents. If a traveler is staying in India, they will know that Indian food is consumed using hand and not using any sophisticated tool, for instance, a spoon. They will also understand the importance of religion in an Indian community. Once they shift to other countries such as Egypt, they can easily relate that the people in different continents respect their religion. In Egypt, if they see a community that eats food using hand, they will quickly adapt to that eating setting because they are already familiar with this habit in India.

Sometimes, travelers are affected deeply by the situations of a community, and therefore, they get too serious and become a part of that society. For instance, during the time of British colonization in Africa, several poets from England traveled to African colonies and stayed there forever. The writers connected with African citizens so deeply that they started writing against the British's tyranny over them. The poets did not want the African people to go through all the torture. The authors wanted to stay in Africa for a longer duration to fight for the cause of Africans.

Being peripatetic and traveling to a wide range of places will enhance the cognitive capability to understand the various cultures across the world. They are the only ones who will deeply understand the problems faced by different societies. Moreover, they will also know how one community has got rid of those problems, and hence, these travelers can provide the details of solutions to other nation's governments. However, to understand a community better, one can also make that community their home. Making a society as their denizen, travelers can tell the stories about a particular community to the whole world, which can undoubtedly solve a gamut of problems faced by others.