Sports stars and movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Any famous Sports Star or a Movie star would have huge fan following not just in their country but also across the globe. They set the trends, they are the ones whom people try to follow. They are like idols for some young crowd. You ask any school going kid, there are high chances, a kid would say that he would like to become someone like a famous football player, a cricket player or someone like dashing handsome movie actor/ bold beautiful movie actress. In a country like India, Sachin Tendulkar is not just considered as a great cricket player of all the time but he is considered to be the God. People literally worship him as a god of cricket. Similarly, South Indian Movie actor Rajnikanth is considered as a god or as an emotion by his fellow fans across the globe. So considering such a huge visibility these personalities should set the right examples in front of the society as young people look up to them.

Now someone like famous film star who indulges in extra marital affair would certainly set a wrong example among the young crowd. Youngsters might feel that it is okay to be disloyal to your partner as it's cool, even a film star does the same.

There have been news about players taking drugs to boost their energy levels, this certainly sets a wrong example for young player. Young player might consider taking drugs as a shortcut for success. So, sports player should never fall prey for such drugs, instead they should discourage young players from considering drugs as a ultimate solution for the easy success.

Movie stars play role of various shades in the films. In the films they may portray a villain, ani-social personality. But, in reality, when they are in public place they should follow the decency. Their single move is observed by the media, common man when they are at the restaurants, air-ports, bars etc.

So it's not only sports stars or movie stars who have obligations to behave as a role model but it's a responsibility of an every single person to behave in perfect possible manner to set the right goals for the entire new generation. Young people have penchant to follow bad things easily as these are easy to follow. So sports stars and movie stars should not behave as a role model because they are being paid very high but because they are a responsible citizen first. They are the ones who can easily influence the young crowd to do the right things in a right approach which would help country build a strong future generation.