Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Advertising director's recommendation of allocating higher budget for advertising looks very logical at the first glance as it is supported with the evidnce that Super Screen produced movies received more positive reviews this year even if the number of attendents have reduced. However, after having a closer inspection it turns out that this single evidence is not strong enough to demand higher budget for advertising. Rather this argument needs to be supported with more warranted and tenable evidences.

Director has said that this time lesser people had attended the movie show becuas people are unaware of the existence of quality movies but he fails to mention if the movie was screening in enough cinema halls and these are accessible easily for most of the people. It could have happened that people were aware of the movies but the movie was not being shown in the nearby theaters or the show timings were very inconvenient like either early morning or very late in the night. Also, recommendation doesn't talk about the ticket charges of the Super screen movies. People would always prefer watching the movies for which they have to pay lesser if both the movies have quality content.

Director has bluntly said that the Super Screen Movies are quality movies based on the few positive reviews. But argument fails to mention how and when these reviews were taken. There are chances that people who did not like the movie must have left the theater in between and the reviews were taken at the end of the movie which are ought to be positive because people who liked the movie might stay back till the end. So conluding that movie is a quality movie based on the very few reviews would be inappropriate. Here we need to consider other factors also. Like, if movie content is audience centric? If the movie is too convoluted and too difficult to understand then not everybody would like to watch the movie. Also, if the movie language is different than the spoken language of the area where it is being shown then it needs to have subtitles or dubbed without which people would feel reluctant to go for a movie.

So advertising is surely one of the factors to pull the crowd to cinema theaters but then the recommendation need to be supported with strong evidences which would prove that movie was easily accessible to people in the affordable rates and is easy to grasp and yet few people watched the movie. Without the substantial evidences Production company may not like to invest in more advertisement instead they may like to invest it in the movie quality.