Students are more responsible for their education than their teachers.

Education is one of the most fundamental needs of modern day society, education is not only empowering but provides students with a purpose to contribute to the society and help solve the quintessential questions that need to be answered for the overall growth and development of the society. Modern education in most scenarios involves a group of students (can be from 10-15 to even 45-50) being taught by a teacher. The teacher is a qualified person who is chosen to propagate some information to the students. As easy as it sounds, this job is more than meets the eye. Although education has many motives which inevitably work towards making the world a better place for the future generations, the means are not as clear as the end goal.

Right from when a child is born, the reserves of curiosity in them is nearly endless. This innate curiosity is very powerful and must never be drowsed. As the child ages and gets into school and is made to sit for classes with many other students, it becomes difficult for them to be fully expressive and get their curiosity satisfied. A good teacher, therefore must always be on hand to make sure that his students never ignore their curiosity and just accept whatever is being taught to them. It becomes crucial that in the early stages (till age 12-13) that the teacher is more responsible for a student’s education than the student because the student just does not know enough to take responsibility for their education.

However, once students get to form a basic understanding of how things work, what works for them, what does not work for them, they try to discover more about themselves, they have to take responsibility for their own education more than the teachers. The ramifications can include frequent failures but that is just making them better. A teacher can only offer guidance and his opinions on what makes sense. A teacher can never fully know your inner workings, they can only estimate it. So, it becomes critical that you realize what works best for you, and there will be many roadblocks but the more you own up to the problems, the more you develop.

It can be argued that without the teacher the students can’t educate themselves, thus making the teachers responsible for their education, in the modern world, there is an abundance of information that can be easily obtained from the internet and can help the student. So, the student doesn’t have to completely depend upon the teacher also. So, there is no way that everything can be put on the teacher. There are a multitude of factors that can hinder the teacher’s ability to make sure that each individual gets the education at the level that they deserve, some teachers are not even seriously trying to do that. So, it becomes paramount that a student takes the rein in their own hands.

So, in my opinion a student has to be responsible for not only education, but learning as that is something which can never stop in their life. Although, a teacher is obligated to help the student at every turn, after a point, it becomes difficult for them to cater to each student, thus making it impractical to take responsibility for each student. As Albert Einstein quotes ,”I was born intelligent, but education ruined me”, the dependence of students on teacher needs to decrease and the sooner they realize that they have the responsibility and the power to learn by themselves, external requirements decrease and the result is self-dependency which lasts way longer than what anything external can provide.