Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

Active learning is always better than passive learning. Students learn more by asking questions and challenging the ideas which further enhances their understanding of the subject. Such differentiation is often observed in different educational systems across cultures. For example, Asian educational system is generally more focused on passive acceptance of knowledge, – memorizing equations, theories, or historical events – whereas the western style of teaching is more focused on developing and applying concepts through discussions and writings. Although the former way of inserting knowledge may equip the students to have more information on the subject, more profound understanding will be achieved by actively engaging in the learning process by being inquisitive.

However, the argument states that students should always question what they are taught. It is beneficial for the student to be curious and to ask questions on the notions that they do not understand; nonetheless, relentless questioning can rather hinder the student from progressing in their learning. For example, first year economics students will be taught in their microeconomics class that all economic agents are rational. Then, a curious student may ask, are people really rational? What does it even mean to be rational? How do you base theories up on rationality when the definition is open debate? As such, if the student dwells upon these questions trying to figure out the concept of rationality, he will never even get to learning supply and demand. At times, students have to passively accept certain notions in order to learn more. It is important for the students to be curious in what they are being taught; however, if they ask questions on everything, they will only waste time either dwelling upon trivialities or failing to gain a holistic understanding of the subject.

Furthermore, being inquisitive in everything may result in being unwantedly perplexed because certain concepts can only be explained through a more advanced knowledge. For example, it is mind boggling that everything has a gravitational pool or that this essay is processed with only zeros and ones; however, when a high school student asks how it works, it will be impossible to accurately explain to him using only the language that he would understand. He would have to first learn general physics and binary arithmetic to be able to comprehend the complete answer. Until then, at certain point, we would only be able to tell him to accept them as a fact, at least for now.

Raising questions, challenging dogmas, and probing to find out the more allows students to be more involved and attentive in the subject. It is also necessary to elucidate obscure concepts and prompt critical thinking in order to expand the student’s understanding of what is being taught. However, one should be wary that unless the questions being asked are efficacious and relevant, it would only hamper the student from further learning. Therefore, although active learning is preferred to being passive, students should refrain from haphazardly asking questions on the subjects being taught.