A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether a national curriculum should be adopted. Indisputably, a nation-wide curriculum is not customized to individual students, so may seem to waste student’s time. Nevertheless, it ensures equal opportunity in education for all students and provides a broad range of fundamental knowledge. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that curriculum should be individualized before college and would argue that students must first receive a uniform national curriculum.

First of all, requiring the same curriculum before college ensures that all student receive equal opportunity in education. If there are no standardized curriculum, there will be discrepancies in the quality of education. For instance, a student in a private high school with an affluent background will receive an attentive guidance and care in selecting his courses. His curriculum is more likely to be thoughtful and thus propitious than a student from a destitute environment. In this circumstance, the individualized curriculum helps the well-resourced students; however, it is detrimental for the future of the less fortunate ones. Consequently, it is clear that national curriculum ensures that education is not dependent on students’ personal backgrounds.

Furthermore, it is important for young students to receive a broad base of education in order to have a cohesive understanding of the world. If a physics student decides to only take science course in high school, although he may be apt in those areas, he may become completely negligent in other fields. A narrowly focused curriculum deprives of the student’s opportunity to look outside of one field. Moreover, even if a course in literature may not seem to augment a future scientist’s immediate career, it will help him tremendously when he is required to communicate his findings with a written work. It is evident that a comprehensive education is beneficial for students, thus a national curriculum should be implemented.

Admittedly, national curriculum has its set-backs in efficiency. This is true especially when a student is confident in his career and educational choices. It can be argued that an aspiring art student will benefit more from taking more art courses than math. Specialization will save time and energy for the students. However, it is more likely that a high-school student does not know what he wants to do for his life. Before specializing in a field in college, it would be more helpful for the student to have a general education in different subjects so that he can explore and discover his interests.

In conclusion, although a national curriculum may seem to cost students’ time and resources at first, it is better for students to receive a broad education at least until college to ensure that they explore many fields. Moreover, an individualized curriculum will create discrimination between the affluent and underprivileged.