Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes here that the decline of Arctic deer population is due to global warming which cause the sea ice to melt. Stated in the way, the argument fails to provide specific evidences, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To support this conclusion, the author relies on reports by local hunters and global warming trends. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion. Therefore, the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that the reports from local hunters is a valid source of information. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground since he does not provide more detail into what kind of report he is referring to. For example, we do not know what kind of information the report consisted of and how it was constructed. The report may have been based on the entire deer population, not specific to Arctic deer, and the local hunters’ observation may be unsubstantiated. Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated the specific data and analysis of the decline of the deer population along with the validity of the report.

The author also points out that the local hunter’s reports coincide with the recent global warming trends, which have disrupted deer’s migration patterns. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between decline of deer population and global warming trends. To illustrate further, the author does not provide any evidence that global warming trends have affected the sea ice of which the Arctic deer travel. It is common knowledge that global warming would have caused ice to melt; however, we cannot readily assume that it has disrupted the migration pattern of Canadian Arctic deer. If the argument had provided evidence that due to global warming and rise of the sea level, the often sought sea ice route by the deer has been subverted, then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author claims that the population decrease of Arctic deer is the result of deer being unable to follow their migration pattern. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion in several critical respects, and raises several skeptical questions. For example, even if there is a correlation between the global warming trend and decrease in deer population, correlation does not necessarily prove causation. Why would deer population suffer because they can’t travel their migration route? Do the deer only mate in certain areas? If global warming trend wouldn’t it be easier to find a habitat warm enough for abundant plants on which they feed? Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide clear evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable analysis of the population decrease of Arctic deer. Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about what the local hunter’s report consist of.