Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement argues that students should always be critical about the knowledge they are taught instead of passively accepting it. From my point of view, I concur with this statement, although students may be affected negatively if they excessively question what they are taught.

Admittedly, if students always hold the opposite views about the things they learn, their enthusiasm toward study might be influenced severely. Most students are teenagers and have difficulty to hold their temperament. It is very common that students who criticise what they learn will end up refusing to learn anything. Moreover, some may even blame their teachers for not giving the proper explanations to the knowledge. As a result, students lose their best opportunity to acquire knowledge when they are in schools, and it will have an adverse impact on their future wellbeing.

However, questioning the knowledge certainly helps students to pursue truth. Only by relentless pursuit of the underlying knowledge of each subject they learn, students are able to master more skills and make a contribution to the advancement of our society. For example, Galileo had always been skeptical about what he was taught regarding whether the sun or the earth was the centre of the universe. He didn’t passively accept the geocentric theory, instead, he made a great effort to prove the heliocentric theory and laid a solid foundation to modern astronomy.

In addition, modern society requires people to have critical thinking ability, which is very significant to foster innovation. The flourish of our society in past several decades is based on the prosperity of internet industry, which was advanced by many ingenious people, such as Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, etc. These people were all critical about the things they were taught in colleges, and such things stimulated them to think differently and develop the world’s leading tech giants. On the contrary, without the critical thinking ability, one can hardly be competitive in future career.

In sum, students do need to pay more attention to improve their critical thinking ability and pose challenges to the things they learn. They can pursue truth during this process and be more welcome in future employment.