Students should memorize facts only after they have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts. Students who have learned only facts have learned very little

Facts are the accepted truths that serve as examples or proofs of existing ideas, phenomena and trends. Facts tend to gain ground as they dispel myths and improve the understanding of various sciences. Although students learn better through facts, it would be unjustified to tax the students to memorize them without stressing on the underlying principles.

Facts exist to augument concepts to explain certain principles. Unless the students perceives the ideas, the instances that he memorizes comes to little use. For example, a pre-college physics student may learn in his modern physics class that the powerful concept of superconductivity can now be practically implemented and Yttrium-Barium-Copper Oxide is a popular superconductor. However if the student is not made aware of what superconductivity is and why the phenomenon occurs, he fails to appreciate why Yttrium-Barium-Copper Oxideis such a fascinating compound. He becomes a prattling parrot that merely reciprocates what is talked to it, without perspicacity. The principle of education- to widen the student's thinking abilities dies in the process.

Memorization of facts, though acceptable in certain areas, should not be made mandatory in all applications. Subjects such as physics and mathematical sciences demand less weightage for facts. On the contrary, Social Sciences and Economics thrive on facts. Studies of ancient cultures, practices, demographic trends, economic ups and downs constitute these affairs, giving little scope for any brain work and logical reasoning. It is warranted that facts and statistics are essential for these studies and more information a student can recollect, the well informed he is. Thus a fine diversity exists in the various branches of education and the generalization of hypothesis regarding memorization and understanding of concepts is unjustified.

The ultimate upshot of an educational system is to harbor the interest of the students, enhance their maturity of thinking and support them in the quest for their goals. The requirements of the students should be viewed in a pragmatic way and schemes must be developed to serve them better. Considering the variety of educational fields, protocols applicable to one arena could be fatuous to be implemented in the rest.