The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.
The status of any nation is represented by the welfare of it's citizens.
The prompt hints the aforementioned idea whose credibility holds true and need not be ascertained.
I strongly agree with this prompt for the following two reasons.
The rulers, artists or scientists may be a small sample size of the gigantic overall population.
Thus, it makes no sense to juxtapose the two disproportionate samples and extrapolate findings from the smaller sample.
For instance, Jamaican athletes are globally recognized and well known to dominate the 100m and 4x100m sprinting in the Olympics,
however, that does not mean that Jamaica as a country is economically better than the other countries.
Athletes are maybe 10-15% of the general population and therefore cannot be represented as a whole.
The above example ascertains the idea that when representing a nation, a minority sample cannot be representing the entire population.
Furthermore, the primary purpose of the nation is the care and welfare of it's citizens.
If a nation fails to uphold the same, then any other accomplishments would diminish it's value.
The nation's best recognition would be the general welfare of it's people.
For instance, Germany is known for it's advanced infrastructure, free education, cheap healthcare which
is primarily aimed at serving its citizens. This makes Germany an globally recognized nation and above all, an
ideal place to live in.
This example reiterates the idea that the government or the nation should be for the people.
However, some might entertain the idea that achievements are necessary to one's image and they should not be discredited.
That being said, one ought to factor in the concept of ease living and friendly policies as well.
What might be the use of Gold Medals and Nobel Prizes if 50% of the population of the nation are living below the poverty line?.
There might be additional metrics to determine the rankings of nations such as GDP, currency value and so on.
But in my opinion, the welfare of its citizens supersedes everything and should take primary relevance above all else.