The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

What makes a nation great, and how is greatness defined? To answer these questions, we must understand the drivers of past great nations to see what factors led to their "greatness." Even a light reading of history whould highlight that greatness, whether that be defined by a nation's conquests, political acheivements, or cultural artifacts, lies in the achievments of its rules, artists, and scientists.

Firstly, the quality of a nation's rulers - whether they be single individuals or a collective governing body - are clear indicators for a nation's "greatness." For example, consider the rule of Nepolean in France following French Revolution. Prior to Nepolean's ascendency, the quality of life in France was poor: the average citizen lived in fear of inprisonment by despotic local governming councils, grain prices were rising following mass conscriptions, and the ideals of the French Revolution themselves were often called into question by leading officials. By any metric, the failure of the pre-Nepoleanic rulers directly led to a collapse in the quality of life for the average French citizen. However, following the rise of Nepolean, new legal codes were introduction to uphold the faltering rights of citizens, and command of the French army was reorganized to securet the homefront from multiple foreign powers. Through Nepolean's great rule, greatness was restored to the nation of France, which would subsequently go on to conquer most of Europe after regaining its strength. Only through a great leader could a nation be itself classifed as great.

Furthermore, the cultural contirubtions of talented artists are a material factor in determining the greatness of a nation. Consider the United States as it entered the twentieth century; until this time, the nation was still considered and upstart power that had not made any notable musical acheivment as a people. Jazz, a new popular sound eminating from the rural South, was not considered refined or cultured, but the style of Gershwin would change this perspective. The famous Rhapsody in Blue captured the sensations of the time in sound: construction, rapid change, and new perspectives. This musical acheivment was an indication to the world that the United States had "made it" as a nation, having contributed a new style of art both enjoyable and expressive of the unique American expereince. Only through the works of talented artists can such important acheivments be made that mark a great nation.

Finally, the contributions of scientists are a demarkation of great nations. New inventions birthed from technologies researched by scientists are what improve the well-being of the populace. Take, for example, the invention of the transitor at Bell Labs. This technology has paved the way for microchips within faster and more powerful computers than has ever been previously invented. This single inovation had improved the productivity of the entire global workforce and illustrated the power of corporate American research and development work following the end of World War Two. THe technology underscored the United States as a great power, something only possible by the contributions of scientists.

Although the general well-being of a nation's people is important, only through the acheivements of great people in society can a nation be considered great.