The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

I believe that living quality of people is an important responsibility of government. Thus, in my opinion, I agree with the statement that the surest indicator of a great nation is represented by the general welfare of its people.

Great nation could be represented by the general welfare of its people, such as education, because it means the government could provide a great basic living for the people. For example, the Taiwanese government requires each Taiwanese person to take the mandatory education for twelve years. The Taiwanese government provides lots of educational subsidies for everyone in Taiwan to ensure that every person has the same right to learn many useful subjects, such as math and history, in the schools. Thus, many poor people can utilize this precious chance to learn lots of professional knowledge to get a high scores and have a better opportunity to study in a great university to change their fates. By contrast, in some countries, the government does not offer educational subsidies for each person, then the students have to lend the loans to cover their tuition fees. These fees tend to be up to several thousand dollars per year, and it will be a heavy burden for each person in the United States. As a result, each person in the United States will be difficult to change their life by education.

Other general welfares, such as medicine, will be a suitable indicator of a great nation. For example, in Taiwan, when people go to see a doctor ,everyone can use a lower price to cure their diseases because the Taiwanese government require each person has to buy the medicine insurance provided by the government. Thus, some poor people will not need to worry about the price of treatment because the Taiwanese government will cover most of the medical fees for them, and these poor people can have the same rights to see a doctor as other rich people. Moreover, the Taiwanese government uses substantial resources to cultivate doctors ,nurses , and other medical professionals, then the people in Taiwan can use the cheapest price to have the best medical services. In contrast, in some countries, the people have to pay an astronomical amount of money for their medical bills because in these countries the government will not provide medical subsidies for the public.

As a result, these people tend to have to endure their serious pain brought by their diseases because they have no extra money to buy a medical insurance offered by private companies.

Indeed, some countries, such as North Korea and Soviet Union, use most of their national resources to develop technology and weapons, and then they have superior military ability than other countries. However, people in these countries usually suffer from poverty and diseases because the governments ignore people’s basic needs. Even if these countries have lots of powerful military weapons, their people can still not receive the basic welfares from their government. Therefore, in my opinion, these countries can not be called great nations.

Ideally, a great nation should develop lots of great arts, music, and technology and maintain the people’s basic welfares at the same time. However, the surest indicator of a great is the general welfare of its people.