The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

What is the surest indicator of a "great" nation? This question is in itself difficult to answer due to the ambiguity of the term "greatest." Suppose that one define the term "great", when apply to a nation, as the general well-being of the citizens. Of course, the surest indicator of a great nation would be the welfare of the people. However, this is a tautology that does not give any useful information. If this is the case, then the value judgments of a nation are nothing more than personal opinions that cannot be verified or falsied. To prevent falling into the trap of relativism, I would argue that the moral duty of a nation is to ensure the general welfare.

In modern democratic countries, the legitimacy of a nation is from the citizens. The citizens, either politically or metaphysically, authorized the governments to rule the countries. In order to ensure that the citizens are willingly giving up some of their rights, leaving the Hobbesian natural states, and entering the modern countries, the government must ensure that people cannot reasonably reject to become the citizens of the country. Simply put, it is the duty of the government to demonstrate that those people who chooses not to become the citizens are insane. Otherwise the government is illegitimate. To make this happens, it seems natural that the government should ensure that people can have better lives in the states rather than being in the natural state where there is no authority at all. Therefore, to justify the existence of the government, it is the moral duty of the government to provide general welfare to ensure the well-being of the people. And given that "great," in a moral sense, implies very good, a great nation would definitely have general welfare.

Moreover, the moral is not something irrelevant or subjective. Some people can act imorally and others may have disagreements on what moral is, but most people would agree that moral is something so important that it should be placed on the top of all value judgments. Therefore, to be the great country, it must satisfy its moral duty, which is providing general welfare to the people.

It worth noting that there is no contradiction between the successfulness of the elites, such as rulers, artists, or scientists, and the general welfare of the people. In fact, general welfare is a necessary for the talented people to succeed. Imagine a world where people are struggling to live. It is hard to see how they can cultivate their talents and become great artists, scientists, or politicans. In contrast, if we live in a world where everyone has a decent life quality, people would be able to make great achievements in art and science without worrying where to live and what to eat. Hence, the successfulness of the elites does not contradict the general welfare. They are deeply related, and general welfare may lead to the successfulness of elites.

In conclusion, the surest indicator of a great nation is the general welfare of the people, and this goes along with the successfulness of the elites. While the later may be a good indicator as well, it is the results of the former one, and since we are seeking the surest indicators, I argue that the former one is the better solution.