The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I would like to start my statement with the definition of ‘a great nation’ is that the nation is ‘owned, governed and shared’ by their people. Based on this definition, I generally agree with the prompt that the better indicator to suggest a nation is great or not, lies upon the general welfare of its people. However, like I pointed out, it is a ‘better’ indicator, not the surest indicator that I will further explain as below.

To begin with, it is common that the rulers, artists and scientists are minorities in a society, while most of the people are average but contribute to the growth of the nation in diverse and essential ways. Therefore, since the number of the average people outperforms the specialistes in the society, I would say that the general welfare defines the greatness of a nation, in that it provides the benefit to the mass instead of a limited group of elites. For example, northern european countries, such as Sweden, Finland and Norway are famous for their general welfare for every citizen and the people there oftenly ranked the happiest people in the world. Hence, it is pertinent to say that by caring for all the people living in the nation, do make the country great with the evidence of happy and satisfied living conditions reported by the citizens.

Furthermore, it is also noticeable that lots of innovation is coming from northern european countries, such as Spotify from Sweden, and Angry Bird from Finland. This suggests that when people are no longer worrying about survival due to the general welfare provided by the country, it frees people’s mind and energy to more creative and innovative works, which further lead to the growth of the group of rulers, artists and scientists and strengthens the power of the nation. Therefore, a positive cycle is formed from the driving force of the general welfare, in that people are able to spend their time to make the nation even greater on different fields, ranging from politics, sciences and arts.

Nonetheless, there is no only way to form a great nation if different indicators are being applied. For example, the US is viewed as a great nation in their dominance from international politics to technological disruptions, and most of the achievements are driven by a small group of elites. Therefore, it is questionable to say that the indicator of general welfare is the ‘surest’ indicator to decide whether a nation is great or not, in that the US performs poorly in their general welfare, but still continues impacting the whole world with their innovations from the elites. Hence, it may be more reasonable to say that different indicators reflect dissimilar sides of greatness of a nation.

To sum up, from the examples of northern european countries, I do believe that the general welfare indicator better defines the core of a great nation. However, counter examples also exist, such as the US, which suggests different indicators should be taken into consideration when the definition of a great nation is dissimilar.