Teachers' salaries should be based on the academic performance of their students.

The prompt given above looks mostly unjustified as it takes the performance of the students as the only measure to evaluate a particular teacher. While there are many reasons that can refute this argument, very few things can be said in favour of this.

The utmost reason to disagree with this claim is that, it is not only by the hard work and diligence of a teacher that is reflected in his/her student's performance, but also the sincerity and hard work of the student. If a student is not willing to excel then teacher can't make him do by the severest of the punishments. A teacher's family solely depends on his /her earnings then because of few students who are not about their studies, we can't make his/her family suffer.

Exam performances are dependent on many factors as in case of long answer writing type examinations the exam graders are not equally levelled, some expect too much while some expect little less. It is probable that sometimes even the most brilliant batch of students taught diligently by a teacher can score less due to the fact that the evaluators had higher criteria than what they expected in usual classes.

It is true that people should be evaluated constantly so as to ensure consistent positive outputs from them. We can help the cause by suggesting and implementing way better alternatives of deciding an overall performance of a teacher. For example, by using a number of valid scales like the number of classes taken by the teacher, feedback given by the student about teacher, how much the teachers helps his student with activities like quizzes, debates and also the year-wise performance graph of his students. This approach would be a holistic and more logical way of evaluation than by merely measuring the teacher's performance through his student's performance. This approach if implemented wisely, would lead to do good both for the teachers and schools/colleges as best and worst would be identified.