Teachers' salaries should be based on students' academic performance.

Teachers are the most important people in one's life after parents. They contribute significantly in molding a child's future. Hence teachers carry a huge responsibility of educating students. This makes teaching a very noble profession indeed.

It will be unfair to teachers if their salary is based on students academic performance. A teacher can only do so much in the process of education. In process of learning, a students' participation is equally required as that of teachers'. If student itself is disinterested in learning, the teacher then has to suffer it's consequences even if he/she has devoted all the time and energy in helping them understand. This is unfair on so many levels.

Not everybody has same mental acuity. Some may be very good in academics, some good in sports. Hence only judging a students' academic performance becomes moot. The teachers get an additional problem to worry about in their already complex job.

The pressure of maintaining optimal academic grades among students, compels a teacher to teach students only whats' required to score well in tests. This defeats the purpose of learning, as students do not learn the concepts thoroughly. This may prove detrimental to their careers in future, as half knowledge is more dangerous than no knowledge at all.

Hence it is preposterous to leave the fate of teachers' salaries in hands of students.