There are two types of laws: just and unjust. Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and, even more importantly, to disobey and resist unjust laws

Individuals in society have a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey unjust laws. Laws are put in place to maintain order in the nation. They help ensure everyday life runs smoothly and provide a set of standard for citizens to follow. Without any laws set in place, the nation would rely on personal moral obligation to keep order.

Just laws, such as the laws of the road, protect people. Without any speed limits, drivers would drive as fast as they want without any repercussions. There would be no sense of disobeying the law and no obligation to drive at a safe speed. The same principle applies for traffic laws, stop signs, and other road rules. Furthermore, the driver could be putting others in danger, and there should be serious repercussions for threatening other people’s lives. When a driver disobeys the laws of the road, he or she may feel a sense of guilt, knowing his or her actions are wrong. There is a moral sense instilled deep inside of humans that wants to follow the law.

While just laws should be obeyed, citizens should have a responsibility to disobey unjust laws. The questions of whether the law is truly helping or hurting the nation should be asked. Just laws keep citizens safe, but unjust laws do not. For example, gun laws. This topic is widely disputed topic, and it ultimately depends on the stance of the citizen. Guns laws place restrictions on weapons that can ultimately help protect. Mass shootings have been breaking out all over the countries. The gun approval process makes it too easy for people with false intentions to get a hold of guns. However, guns are still needed to protect from these mass shootings. Citizens should have a right to disobey a gun law in order to protect his or her family.

Another example of a potential unjust law is abortion and the legal age to abort. Is this law helping or hurting people? Some states allow abortion at a very late stage in the pregnancy. Is this now considered a “baby” that is being killed? Should the parent get to decide whether or not to allow another “person” to live? There are many stances that can be taken on this subject, so it is tricky in determining whether it is a just or unjust law. However it should be questioned whether or not this law is just or unjust, rather than blindly following whatever the government sets in place.

In conclusion, citizens do have a responsibility to obey just laws. Laws with the intention of protecting the nation. However, citizens have the responsibility to disobey unjust laws. Laws that do not have the best intentions for the protection for the nation. Even more laws with skewed visions of what is best for the nation. Some may argue that citizens have the responsibility to obey all laws, and trust that the best intentions are at hand for the individuals. However, blindly following without questioning intentions or voicing opinions leads to a dictatorship. Therefore, citizens should both obey and disobey in the correct context.