Though often considered an objective pursuit, learning about the historical past requires creativity

Like it is said that no one knows what happened in the past with greatest accuracy and the only source to know well about our ancestors, culture and past is through the different books, documents and art that has been passed to us as inheritence. I agree with the point that to learn more about the past we need to construct it with creativity. Below paragraph will act as an support for the above point.

Firstly, there were no cameras , phones or any other devices that have captured the real essence of the past so our ancestors tried to preserve their era in form of different books , artifacts and documents etc. While reading from a book we need to dwell deeply into it and try to see the past from the eyes of the author and for that we need a high level of imagination power and creativity. For example , if a book is about the ancient city of Babylonians and the description is about the aesthetic entrance, great waterfall and rivers flowing through the central town , the cheerful night in the city then it is nearly impossible to see these beauty just by cursory reading. To see this wonderful past we must imagine what and how the author describes the city.

Moreover, talking about the art which plays an crucial role for understanding our past ranging from the caveman era to the new contempory one. Art is based on pure imagination and how well a person can resonate with what the artist wants to convey with his/her masterpiece . For instance the drawing inscribed in the caves by the caveman depicts the way for their hunting , their social gathering and things which they consider good omen ad bad omen all these needs to be visualize by us by seeing through their art which needs good creativity level.

However this might not be the case overall , wrong interpretation of the document could lead to misleading assumption of past. Like if a document is about the ancient esoteric language then it would be difficult to interpret about the message correctly and even a minute error can change the meaning of the text. Like if the text was about a selfless king and instead it is interpreted as a selfish king then it totally changes the original past.

Despite of the drawbacks we cannot undermine the importance of creativity that is required to learn about our past through various sources . Creativity is a wonderful gift that is bestowed upon the human . The author of the artifact, document or the book is also a creative one in a way itself and to understand what he/she wants to convey one need to be also have some level of imagination. So the conclusion is that creativity and imagination are required in way to reconstruct the past so that we can know our past if not all then most of it the way it was.