Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

There is a comon belief, that each student should benefit from the cerain classes of their specialization, and ommit classes which would tax their mind by the unnecesary knowledge. This seems even true for many scientists nowdays. However, is there any part of other fields, in this case humanities, which would offer them knowledge beneficial for their professional and personal development?

First of all, the statement seems very vague at first glance. It states, that Business or Science undergraduates are generally not benefited by any course which consists of Humanities. The first issue which needs to be clarified, in order to objectively and critically analyze the argument is the specification of what the two stated fields consists of. Business, as a fields of study, might give an impression that it focus mostly on cuantitative theory, models and numbres, however, it is necessary to consider, that business is primarily field of social science. Even the practical application to the real world scenarios, as international investment techniques, company development and management techniques, are closely connested and relies on social world. As far as humanities are, as its name indicates, closely related to our social environment, and fields as philosophy closely relates to the way in which we explain world phenomena to ourselves, studying of humanities are highly beneficial to the students of vusiness fields, and for their future careers. Moreover, many highly respected business schools, as ESIC in Valencia for example, teach variety of classes of humanities to their students in order to prepare them to undertand many real world scenarios they will have to face in the future.

On the other hand, considering the sciences, it needs to be specified what kind of sceinces are those argument is mentioning. There are definitely many fields as economics, political science or antropology which rightly enjoy their membership in the category of sciences. They are also in more need of courses in humanities. On the othe part of the spectra are Chemistry, Phisics, Astronomy and so on. They, even if they could benefit from courses in humanities to beter undertanding of the position of their respective field in the human history as well as the consequences of their findings to the humanbeings, should consider courses in the Humanities less then the first group. Nevertheless, humanities are very important for sciences as well and the courses could benefit them highly.

Lastly, it is necessary to specify, what exact courses should be required to teach in the which fields. Medieval literature would not be very beneficial for undergraduates in Chemistry as well, as Thomas Hobbes philosophy would not benefit matematician that much. All the undergraduates, and therefore scientists should primarily focus on their fields, and courses which their faculcies offer. However, matematician would benefit more from history of Florence and subsequently be able able to put the findings of many famous italian matematicians, as Berlounni, to the historical context. The same would apply to astronomers, and the epoque of Gallileos finding.

The way in which undergraduate students could benefit from the courses in the humanities could vary widely, however, certain aspect of these courses would be highly beneficial to their understending of historical context and development of their respective fields.