Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Is paleo diet the cause for nerve regeneration and helthier brains? Were ancient humans aware of there effects?

First of all, the unstated assumption of the argument is the same one, proponents are using for their advantage. The assumption is based on the fact, that the food from animal bones cooked for hours, may have many nutrients, which helps nerve regeneration. However, the argument does not contains any evidenc for such assumption. There might be other causes for better nerve regeneration as this kind of food. First of all, it would be necessary to isolate all the other factors, which affects nerve regeneration, other nutrients. As the evidence is missing, it might be true that people who tend to accomodate paleo diet to their daily consumption are the ones who are different that the ones who does not, in way, that they tend to care more about their well being in general. They eat more healthy food and analyse the food consumed much more, as someone who does not care about her or his consumption in general. On the other hand, people who are usually taking dies might live in much better conditions and be more well of, than someone, who just trying to survive in this world, and therefore does not even consider eating some special food, but eat at all. The two groups of people just seems different from the beginning, what can make comparison even more difficult. It would be helpfull to compare two groups of dieters, both applying different diets with only difference of certain food, paleo diet contains.

On the other hand, as after finding out that paleo diet is directly promoting nerve regeneration, it needs to be alos examined, if this kind of nerve regeneration makes our brains healthier. This is necessary in order to analyse the argument of the skeptics stated. It might help certain aspect of nerve regeneration, after sport or physical activity, however, not mental activity or vice versa. Skeptics and proponents might argue about two diverse issues.

Lastly, argument stated quite firmly, based on anecdotal evidence only, that ancient humans humand knew something more about our physiology than we do nowadays. First off all, this statement is highly questionable, as it is based only on anecdotal evidence, that people consuming bone broth have fewer inflammatory disieses. To be able to firmly butress this causal relationship, scientific evidenc ewould be necessary based on emplirical findings. The ground for such a statement is shaky and anecdotes are certainly not enough for strong causal relationship. Second of all, we could neither be sure, that our ancients knew something we do not know now, even if the sceintific evidence supports previous statement. They might have been having this diet without any othe additional knowledge about it impacts. Another evidence is in need to support this statement.

Stated argument is based on certain assumption which are not supported by any scientific evidence. Therefore, if the assumptions are not true, and evidence would say something different, argument would easily fall apart, in case of proponents, skeptics and author as well.